Red lentils and kale tomato soup

This soup is perfect for the weather like these days – it’s sweet, warming and nutritious. It has one secret ingredient that changes the whole eating experience and I like all kinds of recipes with secret ingredients.

It’s also easy to make, colorful and… have I said already it’s nutritious? Come on, it has kale. It just is. Accept it.

Ingredients:

  • kale
  • red lentils
  • onion
  • broth
  • canned tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • honey

First, I cut one onion into small dice. Then I fry it in a big pot in 4 spoons of olive oil until it takes on some color. In the meantime I wash 200g of red lentils. When onion is ready, I add 200g of chopped kale to it (I bought it packed, chopped and washed already), mix and fry for about 3 minutes. After that I add washed lentils and broth, just to cover everything and a bit more (1.5 liters, if you have to be precise). I use chicken or vegetable broth but I guess water instead of broth will also be fine. Then it has to simmer for about 10 minutes but be sure it’s not boiling. I hope you remember from previous post what boiling does to some ingredients. It’s broth, you have to be delicate. The next step is to add a can of chopped peeled tomatoes and steam for next 10 minutes. In the meantime I add some salt and pepper.

And here is the part of adding the magic ingredient. After pouring the soup to bowls, I add some honey to it. The magicness and amazingality of using honey is that it levels out the slight bitterness of kale. Now I can eat it and reflect on how it is possible that a simple tomato soup, meaning basically broth and tomatoes, can have such a great twist, how grateful I am for the person who invented it and hope that they are now happy with their life.

Leave a Reply

