Breakfast millet groats

The title is as simple as this recipe. Millet is very hassle-free, it doesn’t require being taken care of. You don’t have to stir it or salt. I eat millet groats for breakfast every day for about a year now, so I consider myself an expert in that field.

You need some millet groats and whatever you want to eat with it. Here is what I use most of the time:

  • millet groats, obviously
  • banana
  • dark chocolate
  • seeds: chia, sunflower, linseed
  • shredded coconut
  • walnuts

I start by measuring one 50ml glass of millet. I don’t know how much it weighs because I don’t have a weighing scale but I certainly have a lot of shot glass. Then I pour it into a pot, rinse with cold water, add twice as much water and cook on medium-low heat for about 8 minutes. In the meantime I prepare the rest of ingredients: I cut a banana into cubes, walnuts and one cube of dark chocolate into smaller pieces (as I can’t eat chocolate and coconut now, I replace chocolate with some honey and shredded coconut with one date).

Pro tip: put the chocolate in the bowl as first, it will melt from millet’s heat and create nice gluey consistency.

When millet is cooked, I drain it and put in a bowl. I add a cubed banana, one tablespoon of chia seeds and linseed, two tablespoons of sunflower seeds, shredded walnuts and shredded coconut. I mix everything and it’s ready to eat.

Feel free to add different kinds of fruit, nuts and other ingredients. I can recommend raspberries, cranberries, cashews, almonds, amaranth. Everything is so delishful that I tend to forget to take a picture before I start eating.

Leave a Reply

