Stuffed peppers

There are thousands of recipes for stuffed peppers in the Internets. Mine is not revolutionary and is just a mix of these two recipes: this and that. I recommend reading them because there are some ingredients that I didn’t use but maybe you will find them proper.

Stuffed pepper tastes great not only with delicious stuffing, like in this recipe, but also with some not-so-delicious. You can put inside for example some casserole that you consider a mistake (true story), bake, eat it and forget that has ever happened.

You shouldn’t be nonchalant while making this dish and you should observe the order while adding ingredients. Well, I mean, you can be nonchalant but not when it comes to order!

Ingredients:

  • red peppers (I used 4 big)
  • millet groats
  • onion
  • garlic
  • zucchini
  • chicken breast (optional)
  • sweet paprika
  • canned tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • mozzarella (optional)

I marked chicken and mozzarella as optional, in case you are vegetarian / vegan, but in fact everything here is optional. This is a kind of recipe you can make using food you have in your fridge or in cans and you don’t know what to do with it and what to use it with.

First, I rinse 50ml of millet groats (I still don’t have a weighing scale) and cook for about 8 minutes (like I explained in my previous recipe). If it’s ready, I drain and put it aside, it will be needed later. In the meantime, I heat 2 spoons of olive oil on the pan, add one diced onion and fry it for about 4 minutes, until it becomes transparent. Then I add 1 diced pepper and 1 diced clove of garlic and fry for the next 4 minutes. After that time I add one tablespoon of sweet paprika and stir everything evenly. The next step is to grate one zucchini, add it to the pan and fry for about 5 minutes.

This is a great moment to preheat the oven to 180°C.

If you don’t want this dish to be vege, you can add some chicken to it. Here is how you do it: you dice one chicken breast, cover with turmeric / whatever and fry in olive oil. I use already fried jarred chicken which I have some supply of in my fridge (thanks, mom), so I neglected this step, sorry.

Back to our recipe, don’t forget to stir! Add fried chicken, one can of tomatoes, some salt and pepper. In a separate pot boil some water, you will need it for blanching peppers. Cut 4 peppers along, hollow them out and blanch for about 4 minutes. You can use less peppers, however the amount of filling I’m preparing is enough for 3 big peppers. You can also cut the top of the pepper instead of cutting it along, if you are so anarchic.

Add cooked millet groats to the filling, stir and cook it for about 2 minutes. Then stuff blanched peppers with the filling, put it in casserole dish and bake it for about 20 minutes. After that time you can add sliced or shredded mozzarella on the top and bake for the next 5 minutes.

What else can I say? Oh, be careful while taking it out of oven, it’s really hot.

Leave a Reply

